

Media release

Saturday 3 November 2022

'A stalwart of our profession': Deirdre Criddle receives 2022 Australian Clinical Pharmacy Award

Deirdre Criddle was announced today as the recipient of the 2022 Australian Clinical Pharmacy Award, recognising her fierce advocacy for the recognition of pharmacists as medicines management experts and leadership in the critical transitions of care space.

Bestowing the award at Medicines Management 2022, the 46th SHPA National Conference (MM2022), President Tom Simpson commended Ms Criddle's championing of advancing pharmacy practice.

'As an SHPA Board Director from 2015 to 2022, Deirdre has been a staunch supporter of robust credentialling that drives our profession forward and allows practitioners to appreciate and maximise their impact on safe patient care.

'Deirdre not only supports practice advancement through advocacy and policy, she lives and breathes it through her engagement with the SHPA Transitions of Care and Primary Care Leadership Committee (inaugural Chair, 2017-2020), and in dual roles at WA's Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital: as Staff Development Pharmacist, and Complex Care Clinical Pharmacist on the multidisciplinary Complex Needs Coordination Team (CoNeCT), supporting patients at high risk of readmission to hospital.

'Her innovative outlook and dedication to patient safety have made her a leading voice on the need to evolve the accredited pharmacist profession, and the importance for specialist, expert pharmacists to be embedded in residential aged care and GP clinics, an emerging frontier of our profession.'

In his letter of recommendation, SHPA WA Branch Chair Peter Smart praised Ms Criddle's influential ability to showcase the value of clinical pharmacy services to interdisciplinary peers.

'Deirdre's capacity to both envisage and then create opportunities for pharmacists to work with in multidisciplinary teams and support at-risk patients across transitions of care is unparalleled.

'She inspires many within our profession with her passion and dedication but is perhaps most significantly admired for the breadth and depth of her applied clinical knowledge.

'I can think of few pharmacists who have more passion for their patients and profession.'

SHPA Director Brenda Shum reflected on Ms Criddle's wealth of experience across clinical pharmacy, governance, patient and medication management across the continuum of care.

'She has a portfolio of expertise that is unique. Even with such a challenging workload, her energy, commitment and drive for the evolution of our profession is second to none.

'Despite her extensive list of achievements however, Deirdre retains her warmth and passion. She is incredibly approachable and provides exceptional mentorship and support for colleagues across the full spectrum of career stages.

'She is an absolute stalwart of our profession.'

Deirdre has been previously recognised by her peers, receiving the Eric Kirk Memorial Award from the Pharmaceutical Society of Western Australia (2012), Australian Pharmacist of the Year by the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (2012) and Australian Association of Consultant Pharmacist of the Year (2013), and appointed to the Working Group for International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP)'s Committee on Non-Communicable Diseases (2017–2019).

- ends -

For more information contact:

Nick Sharp-Paul, Chief Operating Officer nsharp-paul@shpa.org.au | 0411 098 838

About SHPA

The Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (SHPA) is the national, professional organisation for the 6,100+ Hospital Pharmacists, and their Hospital Pharmacist Intern and Hospital Pharmacy Technician colleagues working across Australia's health system, advocating for their pivotal role improving the safety and quality of medicines use. Embedded in multidisciplinary medical teams and equipped with exceptional medicines management expertise, SHPA members are progressive advocates for clinical excellence, committed to evidence-based practice and passionate about patient care.

shpa.org.au | 🖪 🎔 in